Steve Romaniuk, Red Bull Rampage 2010 Qualifying round

The mountains near Virgin, Utah, are beginning to rumble once again as Red Bull Rampage, the pinnacle of freeride mountain bike competition, readies for its return on October 5-7, 2012. Spectator tickets are now available, course construction is already underway and the exclusive invite list — featuring the world’s best mountain bike riders — has officially been finalized (see below).

After a thrilling contest at Red Bull Joyride, riders were selected according to predetermined qualification criteria to fill the open spots on the Red Bull Rampage competitor list, which includes riders from 11 different nations.

The field features veterans like Mike Kinrade and Kyle Strait — who hold the honor of having competed in every Red Bull Rampage event — and rookie phenoms like Anthony Messere who, at 17, will be the youngest rider in the field.

Heavy hitters like Brandon Semenuk, who already has a Red Bull Rampage win under his belt, will join the field with Martin Söderström and Thomas Genon, with all three gunning not only for the 2012 Red Bull Rampage title, but also for the overall 2012 FMB World Tour Championship crown. Semenuk’s points advantage will seal the deal if he stands anywhere on the podium.

Paul Basagoitia at Red Bull Rampage 2008

Cedric Gracia at Red Bull Rampage 2008

For 2012, a lucky 1,800 spectators will get the opportunity to witness all the action firsthand in the picturesque desert of Utah. Tickets are available now for the competition days of October 5 and 7 (course will be closed to spectators on October 6). Tickets are $15 and include entry on both days. Please read the spectator advisory on the ticket page and note that the event site is remote and requires a four-mile hike or bike ride into the venue.

If you can’t make it to Utah, don’t sweat it — there are several ways to catch the event while keeping your shoes clean. A live webcast will capture all the action on October 7 at the official Red Bull Rampage site.

Fans can also tune into the TV broadcast on NBC as part of the Red Bull Signature Series. The event will air on Saturday, December 8 from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. PT.

Graham Agassiz CAN Gee Atherton GBR
Paul Basagoitia USA Darren Berrecloth CAN
Antoine Bizet FRA Logan Binggeli USA
Garett Buehler CAN Robbie Bourdon CAN
James Doerfling CAN Geoff Gulevich CAN
Brendan Fairclough GBR Andreu Lacondeguy ESP
Pierre Edouard Ferry FRA Tyler McCaul USA
Thomas Genon BEL Alex Prochazka CAN
Yannick Granieri FRA Brandon Semenuk CAN
Jamie Goldman USA Kurt Sorge CAN
Casey Groves CAN Kyle Strait USA
Mick Hannah AUS Thomas Vanderham CAN
Mike Hopkins CAN Cameron Zink USA
Ramon Hunziker SUI
Mike Kinrade CAN
Cam McCaul USA
Kelly McGarry NZL
Anthony Messere CAN
Kyle Norbraten CAN
Sam Pilgrim GBR
Brett Rheeder CAN
Curtis Robinson CAN
Steve Romaniuk CAN
Kenny Smith CAN
Martin Söderström SWE
Andrew Taylor USA
Guido Tschugg GER
Chris Van Dine USA
Nico Vink BEL
Greg Watts USA
Wil White USA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s